fun at Slugger awards 2009


I had the great pleasure to be at the Slugger Awards 2009. It was really packed in the Black Box, Belfast and the atmosphere was fairly buzzing.

This was the first one i had been at and i was not entirely sure what to expect.

Though it was a wet night, there was recreational rioting, Bob the Builder switching on the Christmas lights, and something going on in the Reform club.

I did not mind the rain getting there to Black Box, recreational rioting is too much like exercise, I prefer Songebob Squarepants, and I wasn't invited to the Reform Club. So Sluggers is was for me!!

Tim McGarry was in fine fettle as compère for the evening and the place was quite packed.

We were all given an electronic voting pad thing that, as with all things technological that you really depend upon to make a good impression, fails miserably! Ah well.

I did really enjoy the night as it was full of bumping into friends and colleagues, but mostly political anoraks. It was a good night all round and many congratulations to Mick fealty and his team.

I see there has been a lot of banter on the issue of who was nominated, shortlisted and who won. But then all awards ceremonies like this can only have one winner in each category and it would probably be a bit silly to apply the D'Hondt system to the Slugger Awards. But then again that would be a bit of fun. Looking at the winners though the DUP, the UUP, and Sinn Fein picked up 'gongs' whilst Dawn Purvis MLA of the PUP picked up the MLA of the Year.

Overall an interesting mix, and it was good to see 'Alan in Belfast' winning Blogger of the Year. Well done Alan!

Looking forward to next years awards already.

Below you will see the list of winners for 2009
  • Up-and-Coming Politician of the Year: Simon Hamilton MLA
  • Local Newspaper of the Year: Dungannon News & Tyrone Courier
  • Local Council of the Year: Down District Council
  • Local Councillor of the Year: Cllr Cara McShane
  • MLA of the Year: Dawn Purvis MLA
  • Campaign of the Year: Employers for Childcare Vouchers campaign
  • Participation and Involvement Award: Public Achievement
  • Journalist of the Year: Julia Paul
  • Political Blogger of the Year: Alan Meban (Alan in Belfast)
  • Committee Chair of the Year: Fred Cobain MLA
  • Politician of the Year: Martin McGuinness MP MLA

Alan in Belfast picking up his award

Dawn Purvis - MLA of the Year


Hand of History. Copyright 2008 All Rights Reserved Revolution Two Church theme by Brian Gardner Converted into Blogger Template by Bloganol dot com | Distributed by Deluxe Templates